Our present School resulted from the amalgamation in 1921 of “Annan Academy”, which had been a Burgh controlled school which charged fees, and “Greenknowe Public School”, which was controlled by the Dumfries Education Authority. The main site of this amalgamated school became the Greenknowe building where the present school is situated. This may help to explain to confused visitors the rather complicated honours boards in the School Library, which in fact relate to two separate schools before the School moved to a new building in Greenknowe, which was then replaced by a much larger building in 1895 - which we know as our “old building”. The more illustrious Annan Academy was founded in 1802, and had as its first home Bridge House, on the corner of Port Street and High Street. This was the school where Thomas Carlyle was educated and taught. In 1820 the Town Council built a new home for the Academy in Ednam Street. This building was extended in the 1890s, and was still in use for some classes as late as the 1970s. Last year the new Performing Arts Centre situated was opened. This outstanding resource is already proving to be a great asset to the school.
Beginning in the 1960s a series of new buildings was erected beside the old at Greenknowe. The new Performing Arts Centre is now in full use. This outstanding facility is significantly adding to the learning experience for our young people.